Banned Iranian Filmmaker Jafar Panahi Accepts Academy’s Invitation to Join The…

Banned Iranian Filmmaker Jafar Panahi Accepts Academy's Invitation to Join

The authorities have not yet commented on the Academy's invitation to the director, but Michael Moore posted Panahi’s statement in response in full this week, as below:
“I would like to sincerely thank the members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences for inviting me to join their organization. I am especially grateful to Michael Moore and the documentary branch for nominating me.
“It’s an honor for me to join such a prestigious organization, and I am proud to accept the invitation on behalf of the large family of the Iranian filmmakers, who have steadfastly represented the best of Iranian arts and culture despite all the limitations they have been subjected to.
“I understand this membership affords me the chance to see some of the best films every year and vote on their merits. For someone in my situation who has been banned from making films, viewing the works of international colleagues is an opportunity that I would deeply cherish. If I am forbidden from making films for twenty years, I can at least share the joys of filmmaking in a vicarious manner.”


‫هاليوود ريپورتر: جعفر پناهى دعوت آكادمى اسكار را پذيرفت – سپیده دم‬
sepidedam.com
‫هاليوود ريپورتر: جعفر پناهى دعوت آكادمى اسكار را پذيرفت‬

Leave a Reply

